Five Year Award Winners


Forget about the Brits, or the Grammy’s, it was time for the most important awards night of the year on Tuesday night – the prestigious Lions Youth Brass Awards.

The judges had scratched their heads, deliberated, and managed to whittle down their shortlists before announcing the final winners at Ruskin Community High School, in Crewe.

Each band gave out awards to players they thought were showing potential, or going above and beyond what was expected of them.

Chris and the Beginners flew straight into things with the Batman theme tune before debuting two pieces; Slipping N’ Sliding featuring the magnificent Trombone section followed by a trip to Disney’s magical kingdom with The Mickey Mouse Club March.

But the main event is the awards presentation, and Chris gave out five accolades (and didn’t leave empty handed himself!), three of which are chosen with the help of Matt, Charlotte and Derek,  one selected by secret ballot from the players, and one he chooses on his own.

The winners were:

  • Bandsperson of the Year: Paddy Bloor
  • Player of the Year: Oliver Livsey
  • Pride Award: Verity Morris
  • Players’ Player of the Year: Poppy McLaren
  • Most Improved Player: Charlotte Shaw

After he had announced the award winners Chris was surprised by Nigel and members of the band, who had prepared a special gift for him as he is due to get married during the summer break. Congratulations Chris and Amy!

It was then time for Tom and the Junior Band to take to the stage. Their pieces included Cornish Pastiche, Fascinating Drums, and one of their favourites – La Bamba.

And onto the awards! Tom gave out five awards, of which three were chosen with the help of Steve, one was the band’s choice, and one he chose on his own.

The winners were:

  • Bandsperson of the Year: Joe Marmont
  • Player of the Year: Eliza Dakin
  • Players’ Player of the Year: Leon Gill
  • Most Improved Player: Lilly-Mae McLaren
  • Most Improved Player: Ryan Snelson

And last but not least it was time for Nigel and the Youth band, as they prepare for their upcoming tour of North Wales. Pieces performed included Til There was You, Singing in the Rain, and Conquest of Paradise.

Nigel had six awards to give out while the Bandsperson of the Year will be announced at the End of Tour Concert, on Thursday, 28th July, at Sandbach High School.

The Youth band winners were:

  • Player of the Year: Natasha Brett
  • Most Improved Player: Rhys Woollam
  • Most Improved Player: Abbie Webb
  • Most Improved Player: Hannah Taylor
  • Showing Promise: Emily Savage
  • Showing Promise: Alana Scott

Two dedicated Lions, Andrew Beattie and Emily Gibson, received eight-year awards having committed more than half of their lives to the organisation.

While Will Brooks, Natasha Brett, Hannah Mills (Y), Craig Shaw, Ryan Snelson, Oliver Shervington, Eleanor Simpson, Adele Jones, Hannah Mills (J), and Maddie Dean were recognised for having committed five years to the band.

The next Lions concert is at The King’s School, Macclesfield, on Saturday (15th July), 7.30pm. The concert is a ticketed event but entry is free.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.